Skip to content

Extreme Couponing TLC – Can we really do that too?

August 5, 2013

I’ve decided to dedicate a post to the TLC show Extreme Couponing. My next couple posts will be on coupon ethics and stockpiling so I thought I’d explain why I’m very passionate about using coupon guidelines. My stockpiling perspective is related to what I’ve seen on the show as well.

For those of you who don’t know a few years ago TLC put out a “reality” show called Extreme Couponing where people who use coupons demonstrate savings on shopping trips. Like any reality show, it wasn’t based on reality at all. On every trip the savings was a at least 95% or even more. My savings trips are 50%-75%.

I’ve heard people ask how can I get the savings they get every week. The truth is you can’t. If you are saving 50%-75% on your shopping trips you are doing great. One of the problems with the show is that the stores they shopped at consistently bent or even broke the store policies that all shoppers have to stick to.

One benefit that Extreme Couponing had is that it brought alot of attention to couponing. Many new people were interested in saving money and that’s great! I think that everyone should try to stretch their money as far as they can especially in this economy. The downside is that is was a reality show and most reality shows make everything more exaggerated to get attention.  The main issue that I have with what has happened on the show is that many times coupon usage guidelines and ethics were thrown out the window. I’ll be posting more about them later. Knowing coupon usage guidelines is very important because we are using coupons like cash to pay for our items. We can do this because in the terms of the coupon it basically states that if we use the coupon properly the store will be reimbursed from the manufacturer for the face value of the coupon. If we don’t use the coupon properly the store may not be reimbursed for the value of the coupon.

Also on EC the stockpiles that they had were a little much. Their stockpile basically takes over their whole house. I look at stockpiling differently. I have a stockpile of foods, personal care and household products but it’s enough to last me 3-6 months at the most. The thing to keep in mind that the sale where you get toothpaste for free at your supermarket will come around again. The cycle of sales that I’m talking about here is called a sales cycle. I’ll probably be talking about this tomorrow. Depending on where you live in the country sales cycles can be anywhere from 2-3 months maybe 4. So every 2-4 months your favorite products will be at a rock bottom price. There’s no need for you to buy 50 tubes of toothpaste (unless your donating, and if you donate please call the store and ask them to order for you). Keep in mind that there are many other people trying to get the same deal that you are. I’ll probably be talking more about sales cycles tomorrow. So feel free to ask me any questions you have.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

