Skip to content

Why I support Paula Deen

June 28, 2013

I just wanted to share for a few minutes about my feeling on this whole Paula Deen situation. Most of you who know me well know that I keep to myself and don’t get on my soapbox very often. This week though I’ve been very upset about how the news media has been treating Paula Deen. When my family had satelllite, the Food Network was my favorite channel. I love Giada, Rachel, Tyler, and I liked Paula alot as well. I always thought Paula seemed so warm and genuine, and while I didn’t make a lot of her recipes I loved to watch her cook. She made food that  was accessible. I no longer have the Food Network and if I did I would not be watching it.

I am appalled at the way the media is treating her now. They’ve taken one word that was used under duress over 20 years ago, and turned it into a witch hunt.  Every one of us have made mistakes in our lives and said or done things we late regret. Paula has apologized profusely on several occasions and it’s time to move on. I don’t understand why Walmart and Target are pulling her products but are selling CD’s and movies with the same word that Paula said over and over again and they are being praised and rewarded for it.  Paula said it only once and she’s being attacked by the media.

My heart really goes out to her and her family. It was heartbreaking to see her on the Today show, and see how upset she was. I really believe that she is a good person with a huge heart. I hope that her heart doesn’t get hardened toward people because of this fiasco.

My prayers are with you and your family.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

