Skip to content

Minimal grocery spending challenge

June 9, 2013

On Facebook today, I announced that I’ll be cutting way back on our grocery spending after tomorrow’s sale at Martin’s.  The fridge will seriously be overflowing so I’ll need the rest of the month to even begin to go through the stuff. 😉

 

You’re ‘probably thinking I’m crazy  and wondering how it’s possible to do that. 🙂  I’m sure you know that one of the benefits of using coupons and buying things when they are on sale is that you have a stockpile. To me a stockpile, is a  collection of  the items your family uses most, bought when those items are at their lowest price. I typically try to stock up enough  on the products we use to last 6-8 weeks.

 

Don’t worry my fridge and my pantry are very full. We won’t be eating just peanut butter sandwiches over the next couple weeks, though my husband and my little girl would love to.  🙂 We have a full pantry, fridge, and freezer.  I haven’t gone much over my $80-$90/week budget to build it. I’ve built it over a couple months, my goal with stockpiling  is to build it, and then go a couple weeks without buying much so that we actually use the foods we’ve stocked up on.

 

Over the next couple weeks, we’ll be buying basic necessities. We’ll be purchasing bread, milk, produce, rice, and things like that. I’d love for you to join me, even if you only have enough in your pantry for a week or even a few days, using what you have on  in your pantry can save you a lot of money. 🙂 Remember you can do this too, 🙂  when chicken breasts are Buy One Get One  buy a couple, and when pork loin is $1.99 lb you can get a package and use it for next week so that you don’t have to pay full price.   Even if you save $5 a week, that’s $5 that you didn’t have before,  you can put it aside and save it. Over time the savings will build up, and your pantry will be more full too. Just to give you an example of  the foods that you can stock up on, I’ll share what we have in our pantry right now.

 

Here’s what we have in our pantry now, all of these are items that you can stock up on.

Peanut Butter

Tuna

BBQ Sauce

Salad Dressing

Progresso Recipe Starters

Cans of Tomatoes

Pasta

Pasta Sauce

Cereal

Crystal Light

Splenda Nectresse

Chicken Sausage

chicken breast

Perdue Simply Smart

Ground Turkey

Ground Beef

Pork Ch0ps

Grilled Fish Fillets

Lunchmeat

Shredded Cheese

Sliced Cheese

Toaster Strudel

Bread

Frozen Veggies

Eggs

Crescent Rolls

Cream Cheese

Sour Cream

Yogurt

Remember that it takes a couple months or so before your stockpile really starts to grow.  You can just start with one or two things till you have a 6-8 week supply of it.  After you’ve stocked up on those two things, you can stock up on two more things and so on.

I hope this post has inspired you to grab a few extra of your favorite items when they are at a rock bottom price.

Feel free to get in touch with me anytime you can find me on Facebook , you can also email me any time at fashionablysaving@gmail.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

