Skip to content

Eating Healthy on a Budget Series Part 1

September 12, 2012

Eating Healthy – pretty difficult at times. (especially when chocolate, bread or butter  is right in front of me)   🙂

Eating Healthy on a budget – sometimes can feel nearly impossible.  😉

So why am I trying to do this?? 🙂

Many times people have a misconception that it really is impossible. Over the next few weeks, I’d like to share  some ways that I’ve learned to eat healthy without breaking my family’s budget.

I’m going to be honest with you, right now I’m far from where I should be.  I KNOW how to eat healthy, I just don’t always eat the way I know that I should be.  About 10 years ago,   I went on Weight Watchers and lost a ton of weight, it took me a  couple of  years but I lost 60 pounds. I went from a size 16/18 to a size 4/6. I started out at around 190, and at my lowest consistent weight I was 123.  I’ll go into more about my story tomorrow, and how I lost the weight, and how I gained most of it back. Lost a lot again and gained it back, you know the drill. 🙂

One of the reasons that I am including eating healthy on a budget as one of the main theme’s on this website is to hold myself accountable. If I know that I’ll be posting my weight each week,  I’ll think more about the nibbling that I do. That’s really where I get myself.  Everything you eat really does count, even though I wish it wouldn’t. Kind of reminds me of a funny story, I have always been thrifty, but never been on a budget before I got married. My husband is really good at putting together, and managing a budget. I remember when we were first married, that I would think if we spent money over the budget that it didn’t count somehow. My husband looked at my like I had 3 heads, and said “Susan if it comes out the account, it counts”   🙂 The same concept applies to eating healthy, everything we eat counts whether we planned what we were eating, or knew how much we were eating or not.

Now I don’t eat as healthy as some people. For example, buying Organic foods is out of my family’s budget right now for the most part. My families weekly grocery/household/personal care budget is about $80 or so a week.  I do what I can with our weekly budget.

The first thing to keep in mind is this

It IS possible to eat healthy on a budget, sometimes you just need to be creative,  and plan ahead.

For example when boneless skinless chicken breasts are on sale for $1.99/lb, and ground turkey is $3.00 a lb the meat that I would plan several meals around that week is chicken.  If  I found the ground turkey on mark down for $1.50-$2.00/lb  that would be what we would have, and I would probably buy extra to store in my freezer. (When meat is marked down, it means that it’s close to its expiration. If you use it right away or freeze it you’ll be fine.)

When you buy produce when it’s in season, it will be at its lowest price. Produce is at its freshest when it is in season as well.  Frozen veggies are a staple in my house. Last week I got a great deal on Bird’s Eye steamers.  Here’s what I did

(10) Bags of Bird’s Eye Steamers at $1.00 each

– $3 promotion for buying 10

Total Out of pocket $7 or .70 a piece. This is a great price for steamers.

Right now Target.com  has a coupon on their website for $1/4 bags of  Market Pantry vegetables these are about $1 a bag.  After the coupon,  you’d be able to get four bags for around $3. This is a great price as well!

What are your favorite healthy items you’ve been able to get deals on lately?

I’ll have part II up later this week, where I’ll go into healthy items that we can stockpile.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2012 2:06 am

    Thanks for visiting! I’ll be following your blog closely. I am trying to eat healthier myself

    Mom on the Run x2
    http://Www.momontherunx2.com
    @momontherunx2

  2. September 12, 2012 2:09 am

    Thanks for visiting. I’m trying to eat better also.

    Julia
    http://Www.momontherunx2.com

    • September 12, 2012 2:22 am

      Thanks Julia! Eating healthy on a budget can seem overwhelming at times, but it can be done. 🙂

  3. September 12, 2012 7:20 pm

    I know exactly where you’re coming from. I make most things from scratch as I’m a big enemy of all the crap they throw in (what should be) normal food. My biggest friend is meal planning ! I choose 2 or 3 recipes for the week which I make big batches of (ideally ones that incorporate similar ingredients) then write a list and shop shop shop. If there are any ingredients left over from the week before I make sure I choose a recipe to incorporate it into so nothing goes to waste. I’d say my average shop is around 70/80% fruit and veg. We love our healthy eating on a budget 🙂
    http://myfroley.blogspot.com

    • September 12, 2012 7:25 pm

      That’s awesome! It’s similar to what I’m doing. The biggest way to save is to plan ahead of time what your going to buy, and base that on the sales. I’m looking forward to trying your recipes!

Leave a Reply

